| Already in your ledger |
|---|
QuickBooks Bill Pay↗NativeIs the ledgerAP inside the ledger, with the approval control sold two tiers up | - ReadAutomatic
- MatchNot verified
- ApproveHumanCan be skipped
- PayRule-bound
No guaranteed human checkpoint — Approve can be skipped: no approval step below Bill Pay Elite; Match not verified | Choose whenOne approver is enough, and they are already in the ledger. Skip ifInvoices must be matched to purchase orders and receipts. | By Bill Pay tier; standard ACH included, checks $1.50, faster ACH $10. Tier gateApproval needs Bill Pay Elite ($45/mo) |
|---|
Why this reading · 3 first-party sourcesCheckpointNo guaranteed human checkpoint in this path. Approve is done by a person when it runs, but a documented route skips it altogether — which is not the same as automating it. QuickBooks lists payment release approval, approval workflows and approval roles only on Bill Pay Elite; Bill Pay and Bill Pay Premium list no approval step between a bill and its payment. Match is not verified, so this does not mean the product runs unattended. That is the question to put to the vendor in writing. AuthorityBills are pre-filled from an emailed or uploaded invoice. On Elite, a designated approver can be required before a payment is released, and approval workflows route bills by amount, vendor or location; a request nobody reviews within 30 days is denied, not approved. Whether a bill that meets none of a workflow’s conditions still needs approval is not stated. Matching against a purchase order and a receipt is not documented, so whether software acts at that step or waits for a person is not established — that is the question to settle before treating this as your AP control. Plan and settingPayment release approval, bill approval workflows and roles that limit who approves and pays all need Bill Pay Elite ($45/mo, included with QuickBooks Online Advanced). Bill Pay and Bill Pay Premium list none of them. - What it is
- AP inside the ledger, with the approval control sold two tiers up
- Best for
- Teams whose bill volume fits the ledger and who mainly need one named approver in front of the payment.
- Choose when
- The approval you need is one person, and the ledger already has them in it.
- Skip if
- No documented two- or three-way matching. If invoices have to be checked against purchase orders and receipts, this is not the product that does it.
- Billing driver
- Bill Pay tier — and the tier is what buys the approval control, not just the payment speed.
- Price detail
- Standard ACH is included and takes 3–5 business days; checks are $1.50 per transaction and take 8–10 business days; faster ACH is $10; the instant payment option is 1% of the transaction with a $100 maximum and a $10 minimum transaction.
- Platform dependency
- Is the ledger
- Material risk
- Buying AP below Elite buys a payment rail with no sign-off in front of it, and the gap is a plan setting rather than anything visible in the workflow.
"Email or upload invoices to QuickBooks. AI pulls the details and creates pre-filled bills with dates, terms, category, and line-items"; "Designate an approver so payment isn’t released without the right sign-off" (Premium and Elite); "Set rules to require sign-off before money moves" and "Route bills to the right people with custom workflows" (Elite); standard ACH included, check $1.50, faster ACH $10, instant payment 1% with a $100 maximum. QuickBooks Bill Pay product page, reviewed 2026-09-12The plan table ticks Roles and permissions, Payment release approval ("Designate an approver so payment isn’t released without the right sign-off") and Bill approval automation for Bill Pay Elite only, not for Bill Pay ($0) or Bill Pay Premium ($15/mo); the page notes user roles and approval workflows are "Only available in QuickBooks Bill Pay Elite or QuickBooks Online Advanced". Elite is $45/mo and included with QuickBooks Online Advanced. QuickBooks Bill Pay plan table, reviewed 2026-09-13Bill Pay Elite customers can add a bill approval workflow, and Elite or QuickBooks Online Advanced customers a payment release workflow, with conditions on amount, vendor or location. A bill or payment release not reviewed after 30 days is automatically denied. The article does not say what happens to a bill that meets no condition. QuickBooks Online help on bill approval and payment release workflows, reviewed 2026-09-13
|
| Specialist layers |
|---|
BILL↗AP & paymentsTwo-way syncThe approval chain is the product, and it reaches the bank account | - ReadAutomatic
- MatchAutomatic
- ApproveHumanCan be skipped
- PayRule-bound
No guaranteed human checkpoint — Approve can be skipped: an administrator can turn approvals off or pay unapproved bills | Choose whenThe approval chain itself is what you are buying. Skip ifAt hundreds of payments a month, fees can outrun the subscription. | $49–$89 per user per month, plus a fee on every payment. |
|---|
Why this reading · 3 first-party sourcesCheckpointNo guaranteed human checkpoint in this path. Approve is done by a person when it runs, but a documented route skips it altogether — which is not the same as automating it. BILL’s settings let an administrator turn the approval step off, and an administrator can pay a bill that has not been approved even when a policy is in place. AuthorityBILL routes each invoice to approvers under policies you configure, and payment follows across ACH, card, check and international wire. Where approval runs, a person gives it; no route that approves a bill without a person was documented. - What it is
- The approval chain is the product, and it reaches the bank account
- Best for
- Firms and finance teams that need a documented approver chain across many vendors and a payment rail with a trail behind it.
- Choose when
- The approval chain itself is what you are buying.
- Skip if
- Per-payment fees make the meter, not the seat price. At a few hundred payments a month the fees can exceed the subscription.
- Billing driver
- Seats, then a fee on every single payment and a higher one for speed.
- Price detail
- Essentials $49, Team $65, Corporate $89 per user per month; Enterprise quoted. The accountant partner console is $49/month. Payer fees include ACH $0.59, check $1.99, virtual card free, Pay Faster ACH $11.99, overnight check $24.99, international USD wire $19.99, and 2.9% to pay by credit or debit card.
- Platform dependency
- Vendor states BILL data syncs with the accounting software to keep the general ledger up to date; QuickBooks Online, Xero, NetSuite, Sage Intacct and Dynamics are listed.
- Material risk
- A product that holds both the approval chain and the payment rail has no second pair of eyes in it unless you configure one.
"BILL AI automatically codes multi line items bills"; "automates 2- and 3-way matching"; "As each invoice comes in, BILL matches it to the right workflow and directs it to the right people for approval"; payment by ACH, virtual card, check and international wire; "Sync your BILL data with your accounting software to keep your general ledger up to date automatically." BILL accounts payable product page, reviewed 2026-09-12Approvals "are not required to pay bills through BILL": the approval step is enabled or disabled in settings by an administrator or a user allowed to edit company preferences. "Administrators can pay unapproved bills, even if an approval policy is in place, as long as those bills have the required approvers assigned." No automatic approval is described. BILL Help Center, "How to manage approval workflows and policies", reviewed 2026-09-13Plan and per-transaction fees as listed. BILL pricing page, reviewed 2026-09-12
|
RampAP & paymentsTwo-way syncCard-led spend platform with AP attached, and no software fee in front of it | - ReadAutomatic
- MatchAutomatic
- ApproveRule-bound
- PayRule-bound
No human checkpoint — every step has a documented route without a person | Choose whenCard spend and bill pay should sit under one set of permissions. Skip ifYou will not move card spend onto the platform. | Bill Pay on the free plan, with no monthly software fee; you pay per payment. Tier gateRouting by vendor, department, entity or PO match needs Ramp Plus |
|---|
Why this reading · 2 first-party sourcesCheckpointNo documented human checkpoint in this path. Every step has a documented automatic or rule-bound route; where that route depends on a plan or a setting, the row says so. AuthorityRamp names the control in the buyer’s own vocabulary: "Decide who can view, approve, or pay — and keep separation of duty." Approval runs through a workflow you build, and that workflow can approve a bill itself: an Approve bill step ends the chain early, so a branch of your conditions can approve a bill without an approver, and later bills in a recurring series are auto-approved unless their creator requires approval for each one. A separate Payment Release setting can require a named payer to release every payment. Plan and settingAmount-based approval routing is on every plan; conditions on vendor, department, entity, location, purchase-order match and GL fields need Ramp Plus. - What it is
- Card-led spend platform with AP attached, and no software fee in front of it
- Best for
- Teams that want AP without a software line item, and want approval and payment to be separable permissions by default.
- Choose when
- Card spend and bill pay should sit under one set of permissions.
- Skip if
- The economics assume you move card spend and, ideally, the cash onto the platform. If you will not, the free tier is not really the price.
- Billing driver
- Per payment and by method — and the free software is paid for by the spend you route through it.
- Price detail
- Standard ACH $0.59, check $1.99, same-day ACH $10, domestic wire $15, international wire $20. Fees are waived when paying from a Ramp Checking Account, except overnight check delivery and attachments. Ramp Plus is $15 per user per month plus a platform fee based on team size.
- Platform dependency
- Vendor states it syncs in real time with the ERP with no double entry; NetSuite, QuickBooks and Sage Intacct are named.
- Material risk
- Free software with a payment meter moves the cost where it is hardest to forecast, and the incentive is to centralise more spend than you planned to.
"Ramp’s OCR captures each detail and line item with 99% accuracy"; 2-way and 3-way match; "Ramp automatically routes every bill to the right approver"; "Decide who can view, approve, or pay—and keep separation of duty"; payment by ACH, card, check and international wire; "Ramp Bill Pay is available on our free plan with no monthly software fee." Ramp Bill Pay product page, reviewed 2026-09-12The approval workflow builder offers an "Approve bill" step, "A terminal action that ends the workflow early if added to the chain". The first bill in a recurring series goes through the workflow; when "Require approvals for each recurring bill" is off, "subsequent bills are auto-approved by Ramp". Payment Release can require a designated payer to release each payment. Amount routing is on all plans; other conditions need Ramp Plus. Ramp Help Center, "Bill Pay approvals", reviewed 2026-09-13
|
Vic.ai↗Automation layerLedger link not verifiedVolume invoice processing in front of an ERP you keep | - ReadAutomatic
- MatchNot verified
- ApproveNot verified
- PayNot verified
No human checkpoint documented — Match, Approve and Pay not verified either way | Choose whenInvoice volume is the problem and the ERP stays put. Skip ifYou cannot run a months-long, sales-led evaluation. | Quoted. The vendor’s pricing page requests a demo rather than listing a plan. |
|---|
Why this reading · 2 first-party sourcesCheckpointNo documented human checkpoint in this path. Match, Approve and Pay are not verified, so this does not mean the product runs unattended. That is the question to put to the vendor in writing. AuthorityThis row is the reason the page has an unverified state. The vendor ships an Approvals module and a payment product, and describes processing as autonomous — but no first-party source reviewed establishes who approves or what releases a payment. Until that is answered in writing there is no locatable human checkpoint, and that is a procurement finding rather than a gap in the product. - What it is
- Volume invoice processing in front of an ERP you keep
- Best for
- High-volume AP teams already on a major ERP, evaluating against an implementation rather than a signup.
- Choose when
- Invoice volume is the problem and the ERP is staying exactly where it is.
- Skip if
- Sales-led with no published plan, so implementation scope and support are part of the number and the evaluation is months, not an afternoon.
- Billing driver
- Invoice volume, entity count and integration scope, agreed at contract.
- Platform dependency
- Vendor states it integrates with major ERP and accounting systems. What it writes back was not established.
- Material risk
- Buying autonomy you cannot see the boundary of is how a payment authority ends up delegated by an implementation decision rather than a policy one.
"Autonomous invoice processing that minimizes errors and speeds up the month-end close"; an Approvals module and VicPay are listed as products; "Vic.ai integrates seamlessly with all major ERP and accounting systems". Whether a human approves, whether it posts to the ERP, and what executes a payment are not stated. Vic.ai product site, reviewed 2026-09-12The pricing page carries no plan amount and routes to sales. Vic.ai pricing page, reviewed 2026-09-12
|