AI tools for ecommerce

For merchants and ecommerce teams who already have a store running and are deciding what to add.

Choose AI tools by what they are allowed to invent, access and change — not by how many AI features they list.

Core decision 01 · Product truthCore

How much of the actual product are you willing to let AI invent?

Fidelity is a property of the operation and its output, not a category of vendor. Most of these products reach more than one rung, so decide the rung first and then pick something that reaches it.

  1. 00Real product

    Fictional reference SKU: a brandless running shoe shown on a plain studio-style background.

    AI changesNo generated product or scene; only presentation edits such as crop, straighten or colour correction.

    UseAnything you can actually photograph.

    CheckNormal proofing.

  2. 01Product preserved

    The same fictional SKU with presentation changed: identical shoe, new backdrop and lighting.

    AI changesThe product itself is not intentionally regenerated; presentation around it can change — background, canvas, lighting.

    UseProduct detail pages, channel listings, bulk catalog work.

    CheckEdge integrity across the run — hair, mesh, glassware, transparency. Spot-check the batch, not the hero shot.

  3. 02Scene recomposed

    The same fictional SKU in a generated scene: identical shoe on a concrete ledge in a studio setting.

    AI changesThe setting around the product is generated, or the product is placed on a model.

    UseLifestyle, ads, seasonal refreshes, on-model apparel.

    CheckA scene that asserts a size, material, fit or included accessory the shipment will not match.

  4. 03Product synthesised

    An AI-synthesised variation of the fictional SKU: a different outsole, panel layout, lacing, material and colour.

    AI changesThe product itself is generated.

    UseConcepting, packaging exploration, mockups, pre-production.

    ToolWorthy's viewKeep it out of the slot that shows a customer what will arrive.

Illustrative fictional SKU showing degrees of AI intervention — not a vendor output.
  • Merchant production suite

    Photoroom
    Reach
    Best when
    The people doing the work are merchandisers and operators, and you want batch output without building a pipeline.
    Skip if
    Your workflow is primarily a programmable catalog pipeline rather than an operator-led production workflow.
    Cost grows with
    Processed images × operation × API tier.

    WorkflowOperators work inside the product: batch runs and templates, with an API alongside. Publish QA is a spot-check at export, across the run.

  • Composable catalog pipeline

    Claid
    Reach
    Best when
    You want imagery to be a step in a pipeline you control, and someone on the team can call an API.
    Skip if
    Your merchandisers need to do most of the work directly in a visual production app rather than an API-led pipeline.
    Cost grows with
    Credits × operation. Chained operations consume more than one.

    WorkflowA strong fit for composable catalog and API workflows: operations chain into a pipeline, and consistency becomes a gate inside it rather than a check at export.

Also shortlisted, for a narrower job

  • FlairArt-directed scenes

    Choose it whenYou want to direct a scene rather than repeat one treatment across a catalog.

    API access starts at the Scale tier. The entry plan does not include it.

  • SellerPic icon
    SellerPicVerified
    Apparel and on-model

    Choose it whenThe category is worn or held, so the problem is how it sits on a person.

    On-model output is a fit claim in a photograph.

Sources · Reviewed Sep 18, 2026

Rung placement, batch and API capability, plan names and amounts were read from each vendor’s own product and pricing pages. Publish lines are buyer questions or ToolWorthy’s own editorial boundary: no channel policy is quoted or generalised in this release.

  • PhotoroomPhotoroom API from $20/mo on Basic at $0.02 per processed image, or from $100/mo on Plus at $0.10 per processed image. The richer AI editing operations belong to the Plus tier rather than Basic. High-volume and annual arrangements run through a separate Enterprise path. Visual QA is an Enterprise-scope capability, not part of the self-serve API tiers above. These amounts are API pricing and are not the standing price of the wider Photoroom application; reading them as one number for everything will misprice the purchase.
  • ClaidWeb plans from $15/mo on Essential for 500 credits, or $49/mo on Pro for 2,000 credits. Dedicated self-serve API from $59 for 1,000 credits. Web credits and API credits are distinct balances and are not interchangeable, so budgeting one from the other will be wrong. A single operation does not consume a fixed credit amount — different operations cost different amounts, and chaining operations in one pipeline consumes credits for each step.
  • FlairPro $8/mo, Pro+ $26/mo, Scale $38/mo. API access is an Early Access capability that begins at the Scale tier; Enterprise covers unlimited API use. The $8/mo Pro plan does not include API access.
  • SellerPicNo standing monthly price for the general web product is confirmed first-party. Billing runs on credits consumed per output. Virtual Try-on, Product in Hand and Lifestyle Scene are confirmed capabilities. A general web standing monthly amount was not confirmed against the vendor’s own pricing page and is deliberately not stated here.
  • Narrower jobs at rungs 01–02remove.bg — narrow specialist for background-removal and cutout workflows; it now also includes AI and product-background editing. Right when the job is the cutout itself and something else owns layout and layout QA.
  • Rung 03 belongs before productionPackify — packaging concept and mockup work with an editable dieline; pre-production, not live product photography. Mediamodifier — mockup and concept presentation, not live product photography. Neither is a shortlist for catalog imagery, which is why rung 03 has no product cards under it.

Preflight

Before a generated image goes in front of a buyer

  1. 01Product

    Did AI materially change the item itself?

    Rung 03, and sometimes rung 02.

  2. 02Claim

    Did it invent fit, size, material or an included item?

    A scene is a claim as much as a caption is.

  3. 03Channel

    Can this asset be used in the slot you intend?

    Check the destination, per asset.

Channel policies differ and change. This page restates no channel’s rule and generalises none of them into an industry rule.

Core decision 02 · Action authorityCore

What is this AI allowed to know — and what is it allowed to do to an order?

Answering questions, reading an order and changing one are three different purchases with three different failure modes. The meters below show only what a vendor’s own documentation confirms.

  1. 01Answer

    KnowsYour own content: help centre, policies, product copy.

    A mistake costsA wrong answer. No order has been touched.

    Needs firstContent it is allowed to read.

    ReadYour contentWritenoneStoreConversations

  2. 02Read order

    KnowsThe store: orders, fulfilment status, subscriptions, customer identity.

    A mistake costsExposure, and the wrong customer. A data loss, not yet a money loss.

    Needs firstA store connection, and a scope you chose.

    ReadCustomer + orderWritenoneStoreConversations + order snapshots

  3. 03Change order

    KnowsEverything above, plus permission to write.

    A mistake costsRefunds, address edits, cancellations. Real money.

    Needs firstA write scope, and a policy that says who may approve what.

    ReadCustomer + orderWriteOrder stateStoreConversations + order snapshots + action log

Under “change order”, these are not the same thing

Human in the loop

SuggestHuman approveExecute

A person signs off each write.

Autonomous within configured rules

The rule set is the only thing between the model and the refund. You are configuring policy, not reviewing suggestions.

RevokeCan you revoke the connection, narrow scopes, and remove retained data?

Risk and commercial consequence increase to the right.
  • Ecommerce-native support and action depth

    Gorgias
    Reach
    AnswerVerifiedRead orderVerifiedChange orderVerified
    Best when
    The tickets you want gone are order-shaped — cancel, edit an address, swap an item — and you will configure the rules that allow it.
    Skip if
    Actions reach what the store platform exposes. Third-party logistics and fulfilment limit what can still be changed once an order has moved.
    Cost grows with
    Ticket usage plus AI-agent automation usage. One AI-resolved conversation can generate both.

    WorkflowNative to the store’s order objects. A resolution here means the ticket closed and the order was actually corrected.

    Per-write human approvalNot verifiedAutonomous within rulesVerified

    A shopper confirming a change in the conversation is the shopper agreeing. It is not a support agent approving the write, and we could not confirm a per-write human-agent approval mode first-party.

  • Shopping and support conversational breadth

    Fin for Ecommerce
    Reach
    AnswerVerifiedRead orderVerifiedChange orderVerified
    Best when
    You want one assistant across the shopping journey rather than a helpdesk that also answers.
    Skip if
    The full shopping experience is primarily the web Messenger, so what a shopper can do varies by where the conversation happens.
    Cost grows with
    Seats plus $0.99 per resolution, counted as one outcome per conversation where applicable.

    WorkflowNative to the conversation and the visitor journey around it. A resolution here means the pre-sale question is answered and the visitor stays.

    Per-write human approvalVerifiedAutonomous within rulesVerified

    Fin can execute configured actions autonomously. A Procedure can also add Loop in teammate / agent before a high-risk action: Fin pauses for a teammate’s decision, then resumes. Intercom names refund and exception approvals as uses for that route.

    The ecommerce role requires an Intercom plan and workspace. Shopify has a native integration; other ecommerce platforms connect through a catalog connector.

Also shortlisted, for a narrower job

  • ZendeskEnterprise and human-agentAnswerVerifiedRead orderVerifiedChange orderConfigurable

    Choose it whenYou are buying assistance for agents rather than a replacement for them.

    Changing commercial state needs an integration or custom action configured first.

    Per-write human approvalVerifiedAutonomous within rulesLimited

    Both agent-approved actions and a set of pre-approved actions are documented. Zendesk’s own guidance is that writes such as refunds generally stay agent-approved.

Sources · Reviewed Sep 18, 2026

Authority states, plan names and amounts come from each vendor’s own product, pricing and documentation pages. A capability nobody documented is shown as Not verified, which describes the evidence rather than the product. The ladder itself is ToolWorthy’s editorial model, not a capability every vendor shares.

  • GorgiasStarter $10/mo, Basic $60/mo, Pro $360/mo, Advanced $900/mo. The current model combines helpdesk ticket usage with outcome-based automation usage for the AI agent, so a single AI-resolved conversation can incur both a ticket fee and an automation fee. Accounts on legacy plans may be billed differently. Voice and SMS are priced separately from the plans above.
  • Fin for EcommerceEssential $39 per seat / month, Advanced $99, Expert $139, billed monthly. Fin for Ecommerce adds $0.99 per resolution. Annual billing brings the seat prices to $29, $85 and $132 respectively; those are annual-plan equivalents and are not what you pay to start on a monthly plan. Fin resolutions are counted as one outcome per conversation where applicable. The ecommerce role requires an Intercom plan and workspace. Shopify has a native integration; other ecommerce platforms connect through a catalog connector.
  • ZendeskSupport Team $25 per agent / month and Suite Team $69 per agent / month, billed monthly. Annual billing is priced separately from the monthly amounts above. Copilot is a paid add-on; its exact amount is not verified first-party and is deliberately not stated here.

Preflight

Before an AI agent touches your store

  1. 01Read

    What store, customer or order data can it read?

    Answer before the connection exists.

  2. 02Write

    What commercial state can it write or change?

    Name the exact actions.

  3. 03Revoke

    Can you narrow or revoke access, and inspect what it did?

    Including the data it kept.

The authority ladder above is ToolWorthy’s model for comparing products, not a permission scheme any vendor implements. The per-product meters show only what each vendor documents.

Check what your store already does

Native first. Specialist second. The cheapest AI purchase is the one your current stack already covers.

  • Shopify

    Already coversAI product-description generationAI media and background generationTheme and content assistanceSidekick: reports, segments, Flow workflowsSearch, filters, recommendations, boosts and analytics

    Buy a specialist whenyour catalog size or category makes the native default results visibly insufficient for the job in front of you.

  • Klaviyo

    Already coversLifecycle messaging and segmentationCustomer AgentWeb chat, SMS and email

    Buy a specialist whenwhat you need is an action on an order rather than a message about it, or support volume has become a job of its own.

  • The helpdesk you already pay for

    Already coversTickets, macros and agent collaborationOften an AI add-on of some kind

    Buy a specialist whenthe AI add-on can only answer, and you need it to read an order or change one.

  • A page builder

    Already coversLanding pages, section libraries and testing workflow

    Buy a specialist whenwhat is missing is catalog-level consistency rather than another page template.

  • Your creative and ad stack

    Already coversCreative versioning, and dynamic creative inside the ad platforms

    Buy a specialist whenyou need concept volume or a creative operating system, not another exporter.

If your current stack already covers the job, don’t add another tool without a clear missing capability.

Sources · Reviewed Sep 18, 2026

The Shopify and Klaviyo capability lines were read from those vendors’ own product and pricing pages. The helpdesk, page builder and creative rows describe capability categories rather than any named product, and make no product-specific claim.

  • ShopifySearch & Discovery is a free Shopify app; the search, filter, recommendation, boost and analytics capabilities above come with it. AI media and background generation is available in the admin rather than as a separate purchase.
  • KlaviyoCustomer Agent is priced from $50/mo for up to 75 resolved shopper-initiated conversations. SMS, web chat and email are the Customer Agent channels documented today. Anything beyond those three is not confirmed first-party and is deliberately not claimed here.

Before you pay

Test it on your store

Vendor demos show ideal cases. Test the failure modes that matter on your own SKU and a safe order scenario before you commit.

Product image test

Use your own awkward SKUs, not the ones the demo was built for.

Run the same operation across

  • A product with a logo or printed text on it
  • Something reflective or transparent
  • A complex edge — hair, mesh, fur, soft goods
  • An item whose exact colour or material matters
  • The same SKU several times, and a small batch, to see whether output is consistent

Then answerCan I publish this without misrepresenting the product? Record the real assets × operations × usage units you burned getting there, not the sticker price.

Support agent test

Do not start by granting write authority. Move one rung at a time: knowledge-only, then a read-only store connection, then only the actions you actually intend to enable.

On test or sandbox orders, check

  • Does it identify the right customer and the right order?
  • What can it read once connected?
  • What does it propose to change, and in what words?
  • When is approval required, and who is approving?
  • Is the action logged where you can find it later?
  • Can access be narrowed or revoked, and the retained data removed?

Then answerIf refunds, cancellations or address changes are not actions you plan to enable, do not test them to complete a checklist. Test the authority you actually intend to grant.

An editorial buying framework, not a claim about what any vendor’s trial includes. No time-saving or revenue number appears here because none is evidenced.

Other decisionsSecondary

Shorter on purpose. Each of these is one question and a short answer, not the comparison the two above deserve.

More creativesCreative OS

Do you need more creatives, or a creative operating system?

Most stores are short of output. The ones short of a system are already running versioned creative across several channels.

  • AdCreative.aiSelf-serve creative volume

    You need more concepts out the door this week, from a small team.

  • Smartly.ioFeed-driven creative operations

    Creative production and media operations have become the same job across several channels.

Native ShopifyDedicated CRO workflow

What is actually missing from native Shopify?

Usually not pages. Name the missing capability before buying a builder for it.

  • PageFlyShopify page building

    You need pages the native editor will not give you, and you want to test them.

  • ShogunPost-click build and personalisation

    The work is a repeatable post-click programme. Check the current availability of the A/B capability you are counting on: that product path has changed, and a new page-builder account does not automatically carry the legacy testing capability.

Native searchSpecialist relevance

When has native search stopped being enough?

When zero-result rate and category depth start deciding conversion — not simply when the catalog gets bigger.

  • AlgoliaRelevance and merchandising control

    You need to control ranking and merchandising rather than accept a default.

  • NostoSearch, merchandising and personalisation

    Discovery, merchandising and personalisation are one workflow rather than three tools.

Existing lifecycle stackChannel specialist

Does your existing lifecycle stack already own this job?

Usually yes. The real exception is the SMS channel itself.

  • AttentiveOwned-channel SMS lifecycle

    SMS is a programme in its own right rather than one more send.

  • PostscriptShopify SMS with an AI shopper layer

    The store is on Shopify and SMS is where the retention work happens.

Sources · Reviewed Sep 18, 2026

Positioning for these eight products was read from each vendor’s own site. No pricing is shown here, so none is claimed: a secondary decision is settled on fit, and the billing basis is one click away on the vendor’s own page.

How this page decides

This is a buying guide, not a directory listing. Products are here because an editor put them here for the job, and they stay whether or not ToolWorthy happens to hold a record for them.

Selection and evidence
  • Written for store owners and small ecommerce teams, and useful to catalog and creative leads and to whoever owns support.
  • Products are chosen editorially for the decision they answer. Placement is not for sale and nothing on this page is paid.
  • A visible price is the standing amount you would pay today on a monthly plan. Annual-plan equivalents are labelled as such and kept in these folds, never beside a product as if they were the entry price.
  • Where a first-party source did not confirm an amount or a capability, this page says it is not verified rather than estimating it.
  • Authority states come from each vendor’s own documentation. Not verified describes the evidence for one capability; it is not a judgement about the product.
  • Folding is a length decision, never an evidence decision. Everything inside these folds is held to the same first-party standard as the rows above them.
  • Whether ToolWorthy holds a record for a product decides where its icon and links come from, and nothing else about whether it appears or where it ranks.

Last reviewed Sep 18, 2026. Pricing and features change; the linked tool and category pages are the maintained record.

Still open

Do I have to disclose that a product image was generated?

That depends on the channel, and channel policies differ and change. Read the image policy of each place you list, for the specific slot you want to use. ToolWorthy’s view is simpler than any policy: if the physical item could surprise someone who bought from that image, the image has gone too far for that slot.

Can an AI support agent issue a refund without a person approving it?

Yes, when you configure it that way. Gorgias supports autonomous actions; its customer confirmation is shopper confirmation, not support-agent approval. Fin supports both an autonomous route and a configurable human-in-the-loop approval route. Zendesk supports agent-approved and pre-approved action modes.